Japan Travel Area Guide

Get to know the whole of Japan with travel information!!

This is a Japan area guide with introductions of each region in the country from north to south. Some famous cities like Tokyo, Osaka, Kyoto, Okinawa and Hokkaido are already well-known by foreigners, but there are many other less known places to visit and things to do in Japan.

Get the latest travel information of any part of Japan you wish to travel! Our introduction also includes some hidden spots and things which many travellers may not know yet.

Get the information of anywhere in Japan you are interested in!! You may find the exclusive information of hidden things and places on our guides.


Hokkaido is the largest prefecture located in northernmost of Japan. Hokkaido’s tremendous nature offers scenery in each seasons, however two particular seasons with the two attractions are very popular: colorful flower fields in summer and Sapporo Snow Festival in winter. Hokkaido is also known as the biggest gourmet land in the country with fresh and reasonable seafoods, vegetable and fruits.


Tohoku Region is the northeast part of Japan’s main island. The area is less touristy than other parts of Japan, but it’s actually filled with attractions and beautiful places. The snowy region consists of 6 prefectures: Aomori, Iwate, Akita, Miyagi, Yamagata and Fukushima, and they are great for skiing, hot spring and seasonal activities such as cherry blossom viewing and autumn leaves.

Kanto and Tokyo

Kanto Region is the metropolitan area including the capital city Tokyo. It’s the most popular area for travellers to stay at Tokyo and take a short trip to the surrounding prefectures: Kanagawa, Chiba, Saitama, Ibaraki, Tochigi and Gunma.

Central Japan and Mt.Fuji

Central Japan has become increasingly popular as a tourist destination recently. The area includes numbers of top tourist sites such as Mt. Fuji, Nagano and Shirakawago which can be easily accessed from Tokyo by Shinkansen or bus. The region consists of Niigata, Yamanashi, Shizuoka, Nagano, Toyama, Ishikawa, Fukui, Gifu and Aichi prefectures.

Western Japan

Western Japan is composed of three regions: Kansai including Osaka and Kyoto, Chugoku and Shikoku. Along with those two famous prefectures (Osaka and Kyoto), the other areas are also visited by more foreign travelers than before for local food and historical tourist sites. Western Japan is composed of 16 prefectures: Osaka, Kyoto, Shiga, Mie, Nara, Wakayama, Hyogo, Tottori, Shimane, Okayama, Hiroshima, Yamaguchi, Kagawa, Tokushima, Kochi and Ehime

Okinawa and Kyushu

Okinawa, the southernmost islands of Japan, achieves fame as a world-class beach resort. It’s the best choice for summer vacation in Japan. Kyushu Region including Fukuoka and Nagasaki draws lots of tourists from overseas with regional food and historical spots. The southern district is composed of Okinawa and 7 Kyushu prefectures: Fukuoka, Saga, Nagasaki, Kumamoto, Oita, Miyazaki and Kagoshima.